Recognizing Excellence In Quality

PQA Quality Awards Community Pharmacy Innovation in Quality Awards

PQA Quality Awards

The PQA Quality Awards & Recognition Program recognizes prescription drug plans that have high achievement or significant improvement in PQA measures of medication safety and appropriate use.

The PQA Excellence in Quality Award recognizes the highest level of combined achievement in overall performance and medication-use quality. Recipients must have achieved an overall summary rating of at least 4.5 stars and a 5-star rating on PQA medication measures used within the CMS Medicare Star Ratings Program.

The PQA Quality Improvement Award recognizes the highest improvement in medication safety and appropriate use. The Quality Improvement Award does not take into consideration the plan’s overall summary rating. Instead, awardees must have received a 5-star rating on the CMS Quality Improvement measure and the greatest combined improvement on PQA measures used within the CMS Medicare Part D Star Ratings Program.

Both awards are based solely on publicly available quality scores. The safe use of medications is a top issue for all providers, and it is also extremely important within the Medicare program. The high standards for excellence set forth in the awards criteria means that the recipients are truly outstanding in their protection of patients and in their promotion of optimal medication outcomes.

2019 Award Winners

excellence in quality

Medicare Advantage Drug Plans (CMS Contract Number)
Alignment Healthcare (H3815)
Florida Blue Medicare (H2758)
Kaiser Permanente California Regions (H0524)
Kaiser Permanente Hawaii Region (H1230)
Kaiser Permanente Mid-Atlantic Region (H2150 and H2172)
Kaiser Permanente Northwest Region (H9003)

Prescription Drug Plans (CMS Contract Number)
Independent Health Benefits Corporation (S4501)
Tufts Health Plan (S0655)
Health Alliance Medical Plans (S4219)

quality improvement

Medicare Advantage Drug Plans (CMS Contract Number)
Allwell (H5294)
Blue Shield of California (H0504)
Brand New Day (H0838)
Quality Health Plans of New York, Inc. (H2773)
UnitedHealthcare (R3175)
UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Tennessee (H0251)

Prescription Drug Plans (CMS Contract Number)
Pennsylvania Public School Employees’ Retirement System – Health Options Program (E3014)
WellCare Health Plans, Inc. (S4802)

Previous Winners

2019 PQA Quality Awards Press Release PQA Quality Awards Questions

Community Pharmacy Innovation in Quality (CPIQ) Awards

The Community Pharmacy Innovation in Quality (CPIQ) Awards recognize high performance for a pioneering individual practitioner and an innovative community pharmacy practice that result in improvements in quality of care, medication optimization and patient outcomes. The awards are supported by funding from the Community Pharmacy Foundation and presented at the PQA Annual Meeting.

Nomiations for the 2020 CPIQ Awards are Now Being Accepted

PQA and CPF are pleased to invite nominations for the 2020 CPIQ Awards. Individuals may nominate themselves, their organizations or others through the online nomination form now through Friday, January 31, 2020. Below are links to the nomination information and the nomination form.

individual award
2019: Lindsey Valenzuela, PharmD, Administrator of Population Health and Prescription Management, Desert Oasis Healthcare 
2018: Kari Trapskin, PharmD, 
Vice President, Health Care Quality Initiatives, Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
pharmacy award
2019: Towncrest Pharmacy of Iowa
2018: Charitable Pharmacy of Central Ohio

Learn more about past CPIQ Award Recipients. Each award recipient has been a featured presenter during a PQA Quality Forum Webinar, explaining their innovative work that has advanced community pharmacy practice.

2020 CPIQ Nomination Information 2020 CPIQ Nomination Form CPIQ Awards Questions