PQA Board of Directors

PQA’s Board represents a diverse group of thought leaders and experts in healthcare, who understand how medication optimization improves patient outcomes and supports a value-based care system. Covering the healthcare spectrum, their expertise helps PQA advance the safe and appropriate use of medicines. The Board is composed of up to 25 individuals representing all of PQA’s membership sectors:

  • Community Pharmacy
  • Health Plans, Health Systems, Alliances and Pharmacy Benefits Managers
  • Pharmaceutical Industry Organizations
  • Health Technology Solutions and Data Analytics
  • Healthcare Quality and Standards Organizations
  • Government Agencies
  • Associations, Foundations and Research Institutions
  • Universities and Academic Institutions

The Board meets four times a year during the following months: February, May (in conjunction with the PQA Annual Meeting), September and November (in conjunction with the PQA Leadership Summit).



Executive Committee

David Medvedeff, PharmD, MBA
Aspen RxHealth
Mitch Betses, RPh
Member at Large
CVS Health
Jamie Chan, PharmD
Vice Chair
Blue Shield of California
Mary Ann Kliethermes, PharmD
Immediate Past Chair
Midwestern University
Jerry Penso, MD, MBA
American Medical Group Association
Laura Cranston, RPh
Ex Officio Member
Pharmacy Quality Alliance
Anne Burns, BS Pharm, RPh
American Pharmacists Association

Board Members

Vikki Ahern, MAS, CHC
Magellan Rx Management
Ronna B. Hauser, PharmD
National Community Pharmacists Association
Michael Anderson, PharmD
UnitedHealthcare Medicare & Retirement
Sharon K. Jhawar, PharmD, MBA, BCGP
SCAN Health Plan
Alan Balch, PhD
Patient Advocate Foundation
Jeffrey A. Kelman, MD, MMSc
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Christie R. Boutte, PharmD, RPh
National Association of Chain Drug Stores
Bhavesh Modi, RPh
Susan Cantrell, RPh, CAE
Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
Victor Perini, DPh, MSc, MBA
Accredo Health
Lou Dallago
Pfizer, Inc.
Cynthia J. Pigg, BS Pharm, MHA, FAMCP
Cardinal Health
Michael Duteau, RPh
KPH Healthcare Services, Inc.
Jason M. Spangler, MD, MPH, FACPM
Amgen, Inc.

Rick Gates, RPh
Walgreens Boots Alliance

Troy Trygstad, PharmD, MBA, PhD
Community Care of North Carolina